A 2013 Video game recap (Sort of)

For some people, 2013 was defined by the Xbox One and PS4 launch, introducing the next-gen and all its promises. For me, 2013 was the year my Steam games never ceased to increase in numbers, to the point where I’m currently overloaded for the next 10 years. Okay, 3 years because most of them are short/medium-length indie games. Seriously, in 2012 I had 40 games or so on Steam, and now I am the proud owner of 111 titles (plus 1 software), and I’ve never launched 80% of them. So many games, so little time.

Almost accurate picture of me. I have longer, curlier hair.

Well, to be honest it’s not entirely true. I had a lot of free times in 2013, it’s just that for video games I chose to spend it on precise titles which occupied me a lot more than it should have.

First, there was League of Legends. Yup. I spent a loooong time on this game in the first half of the year, and when I look back, I realized that I could have played so many things instead. But this game is so hypnotizing, I don’t know how to explain. It must be Teemo’s doing. Damn that yordle. Now the thing is, I’ve moved to another city, in a student room which has limitations concerning online games, so since August I’ve stopped playing this evil game.

 But 2013 was also the year I became an all-in indie hipster (I’m quoting a friend, sort of). I deny it, for I don’t wear big glasses (yet), but he’s partially right. When I look back, I only remember 2 triple-A games I’ve played until the end: Bioshock Infinite and Darksiders 2I’m currently finishing my series of posts about the first one, which annoyed me (especially considering the quality of Bioshock) and I wrote something about the latter, which also disappointed me a lot, to be honest. So technically, yes, I became an 95% indie player during the last year. Not that I wasn’t already attracted by this evil side of gaming, full of weird people and ugly pixels, but yeah, 2013 really aggravated my case. On the other hand, I discovered real gems and treasures. Here’s some memories I’d like to share:

Last year was definitely the year of Team Meat!

– First, I tried to complete The Binding of Isaac (aka get Platinum God achievement on Steam), and spent a loooot of time on it. I am very close now, only 4 achievements remaining, but since I can’t make Steam go online in my room (damn this proxy), I’m currently waiting before playing Isaac again.

– Next is Super Meat Boy, which is not a game I discovered in 2013, but during this year I took a new look at the game after I decided to speedrun it. That’s right, speedrun it. I told you I had a lot of free time back then! It became a real pleasure to play this game, and I think I will write about it in the upcoming weeks. Oh, and I also unlocked the Kid! The year is so complete.

Ironically, I never use him even though I spent almost 3 hours trying to unlock this guy.

– I discovered Super Hexagon, and I enjoyed it too much for my own sanity. This game is pure bliss. I wrote about it too, to share with the world how much I love this game. Play it. Please?

– And while we’re at it, I also played every game made by Terry Cavanagh, for the first time (Bullet Time, Judith) or just to play them again (VVVVVV, Don’t Look Back). I wrote a retrospective of his games (in French).

– I also continued my journey into the BIT.TRIP saga, starting with BIT.TRIP BEAT and CORE. Back in 2012 I completed RUNNER, and in 2013 I played its sequel, Runner 2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien, but in the end I was quite disappointed so I stick to the real BIT.TRIP games.

– I had the pleasure to finish Superbrothers: Sword and Sworcery EP. I wrote about it, it’s excellent.

– I had some good surprises with flash and tiny games. Particularly one called No One Has To Die. If you haven’t played it, I strongly recommend you give it a shot, it’s 20-minutes long. I’ll definitely keep it in mind for a long time.

– I spent many hours in Don’t Starve, as well as Reus. One is a survival and the other a god-like game, but I put them together because both are fine for short periods of play, otherwise it becomes repetitive and dull. But I enjoyed them, from time to time. 

– Speaking of “many hours spent”, I also fell back into Minecraft during a month or two, mainly in multiplayer. I enjoyed the mods, and became a happy bee-farmer!

Let the mating season begin!

– Speaking of “multiplayer” (dang those transitions!), I also tried with friends games like Monaco, Hammerwatch, Skyward Collapse, and Castle Crashers. Some of them were very good, maybe I’ll write something about them!

– I failed many times at beating the boss in FTL: Faster Than Light. In easy difficulty. Man, I’m so angry at this game!

– I entirely completed 10.000.000, and I still don’t know why.

– I found Starseed Pilgrim and Proteus very interesting, and I’m sure I will write something about them, eventually. Bientôt l’été is also included, but with less enthusiasm. 

And now, 2014! 

– I bought a Nintendo 3DS for Christmas, with Animal Crossing: New Leaf, Zelda: A Link Between Worlds and Super Mario 3D Land was free. It’s just the beginning, and I’m quite excited to discover the games on this platform!

– I still have more than 90 games on Steam which remains untouched, so I’ll try to play some of them, and write consistently right after completing one, if it inspires me. I’m currently playing Aquaria, and after it probably BIT.TRIP FATE

– I will keep playing flash games and tiny games, because I like it, and I will also catch up some of the old games I haven’t played yet. For example, in the end of the year I was playing Valkyrie Profile

Feel free to tell me which games have you played in 2013! In the meantime, I wish you all a happy New Year full of games and I’m looking forward to writing more stuff for you!

About Maratz

Ludophilophage. Explorateur de mondes pixelisés. Coucheur de mots sur écran. English. French.

Share your thought!

